College Development Council

The College Development Council was established as per the guidelines of the University Grants Commission and in accordance with Statute 253 of the Orissa Universities First Statutes, 1990. It coordinates the activities between the Colleges and the U.G.C. and monitors the implementation of the UGC – funded schemes and projects in the colleges. The Council takes steps for promotion, coordination and raising the standard of education in colleges. It is being managed by a part time Director and supporting staff.

There are 128 colleges including 38 professional colleges under the jurisdiction of the University. Out of which 97 colleges have been granted permanent affiliation. There are 49 colleges enlisted under Section 2(f) and 12(B) of the U.G.C. Act, 1956 in order to avail UGC financial assistance for different academic development of the colleges.  The U.G.C. has sanctioned/released Rs.1,62,73,058/- to different colleges towards purchase of books, journals, equipment and for construction of buildings during XI Plan period. The proposal for Career Orientation Programme of Khemundi College, Digapahandi has been accepted by the UGC and the UGC has sanctioned Rs. 7.0 lakh to that college.

There are six Autonomous Colleges i.e. (1) Khallikote (Autonomous) College, Berhampur, (2) S.K.C.G. (Autonomous) College, Paralakhemundi, (3) Vikram Deb (Autonomous) College, Jeypore, (4) Government Autonomous College, Phulbani, (5) S.B. Rath Govt. Women’s College, Berhampur and (6) Rayagada Autonomous College, Rayagada.

A new proposal of Science College, Hinjilicut for conferment of autonomous status has been forwarded to UGC, New Delhi for consideration. The UGC has allocated Rs.10,67,01,750/- during the 10th Plan period for construction of Women’s Hostel to 18 colleges covered under Section 2(f) and 12-B of the UGC Act, 1956 and 50% of the allocated amount has been released by UGC to implement the construction work during XI Plan period. The UGC has approved a Major Research Project in favour of Ms. Santilata Sahu, Senior Lecturer in Oriya, Khemundi College, Digapahandi and has sanctioned and released the grant. Besides this, several Minor Research Projects have been sanctioned to the teachers of different colleges and also released financial assistance.

Berhampur University, Berhampur-760007,Odisha,India || For Enquiry Contact Ph No. +91-680-2227333.

Copyright 2014 Berhampur University. All rights reserved. || Designed & Hosted by